Stanjek & Kleen are Sailors of the Year

On Friday, February 10th, for the first time, the “Sailing Team Germany Award” was presented as a nationwide distinction in six categories for outstanding sports performances and special services in the world of sailing. The vice world champions in the Star, Robert Stanjek & Frithjof Kleen received the most important prize, the “Sailor of the Year” award.


Ten prize winners came into the spotlight to receive their awards. Thomas Piesker from Heinz Nixdorf Association, the national coach for the Laser class, was simultaneously awarded prizes in two categories: as “Trainer of the Year” and the “Fairness Prize for the Year” together with Simon Grotelüschen, Philipp Buhl and Malte Kamrath for the best and fairest team performance during the Olympic qualifications. Among the young talents, Ferdinand Gerz & Patrick Follmann won the “Newcomer of the Year” award for winning the German championship title and for qualifying for the Olympics. Among the sailing associations, the “Verein Seglerhaus am Wannsee” distinguished itself as the “Yacht Club of the Year” due to its sporting achievements and promotion of young talent. The “Award for Lifetime Achievement” went to Gunter Persiehl, commodore of the “Norddeutscher Regatta Verein”, who has been campaigning for and promoting national and international sailing for more than 40 years now.


A specialist jury comprised of 26 winners of medals in the Olympic and Paralympic Games voted for the prize winners.